Akbars, Leeds City Centre Reader Reviews

More about Akbars, Leeds City Centre
Send us your comments about Akbars, Leeds City Centre and get £50 off a case of wine *

Akbars

Indian

Eastgate, Leeds City Centre, LS2 7LY
Call this Venue on 0113 245 6566 and mention Sugarvine

Review by Browneyedgirl (3rd April 2013)

Service was excellent - the chips we ordered came late so were comped, which we appreciated. Tried two of the balti dishes which were both delicious. Definitely will be back.

Review by Kim (2nd September 2012)

Amazing food and service, brilliant chicken balti and kulfi dessert. The waiting staff were very polite in recommending suitable dishes and were very patient with us, considering our lack of curry knowledge. A Great meal and an enjoyable experience overall!

Review by Fay (28th August 2012)

The Food and Service was outstanding, the waiters were very polite and punctual, The food was divine, delicious and perfectly cooked.

Review by Dave H (28th July 2012)

AWFUL ordered a king prawn dish absolutley awful prawns was chopped up in to little pieces way overcooked dry hard destroyed told the waiter just smiled and cleared the table never again

Review by Ker (3rd July 2010)

Went for my wedding anniversary with my husband, the service was fantastic, the meal was excellent, the only downside was the state of the toilets, it was a hot day and there was no air con in them so they were like an oven, and they were not very clean...but that is my only complaint, the food was out of this world and very fairly priced

Review by Dr Malik (29th May 2009)

I have been eating weekly at the Eastgate branch since it has first opened in 2003 and must say that everytime I have eaten there, it has been consistent. The food is excellent (best ever), service is superior and the price is fantastic. I cannot recommend it enough! Go and see for yourself - try the chicken nambali and lamb chops... how do they do it!

Review by Lt (27th May 2009)

Very good food, good service, decent price. Would recommend this one

Review by Clark Griswold (23rd March 2009)

Went as a party of 6 from work. We ordered 5 main dishes (Karahi Ghost x 2, Chicken Chilli Balti, Masala Fish, Chicken Ockra) and five starters (Liver Tikka x 3 and Seikh Kebabs x 2). As some of the party were asian, we asked for the dishes in the 'Apna' style which really spiced proceedings up.

Cannot recommend highly enough. Woof woof.

Review by Seshu Josyula (18th November 2008)

Akbars is one of the best restaurants I've come across in United Kingdom. You sure will enjoy the food with a touch of excellent service. A must to try place if you are a food lover.

Review by Adrian (12th January 2007)

This has to be the best Indian in Leeds, just superb. The food is excellent, and the service is impeccable. You will not be disappointed. Well done.

Review by Craig (29th November 2006)

The best indian food I have ever eaten! It was lively I think we were lucky to get a table. I would eat there every night if I could

Review by Sandy (20th November 2006)

I always enjoy eating at Akhbars, the quality is always excellent and it is always very busy. It does tend to get very noisy though. As I was with some asian friends the waiter did give us the option of having it asian style, beware it involves lots of green chillies!

Review by Fiaz (19th October 2006)

With out a doubt the food is outstanding, stunning decor and lighting effects the only slightly negative i can think of its busy all the time and for good reason too !!

Review by Gem (29th September 2006)

Akbars ambience and service is excellent .Loved to visit this place.Enjoyed lamb chops and masala fish!!

Review by Ac (8th January 2006)

I always go to Akbars when staying in Leeds - it is the best I have found by a wide margin. I prefer the ambience in the Greek St restaurant - but unfortunately they do not serve Liver Tikka. This is available as a starter at the Eastgate restaurant, and should not be missed. The price is extremely reasonable considering the excellent food and service.

Review by Gr (14th October 2005)

Amazing, the food is the best i have ever tasted and i'm now a regular there. the waiters are all the friendliest i have ever met. it's the place to be if its your birthday, just tell a waiter and see for yourself the amazing service you get!

Review by Johnbart (16th June 2005)

First time at Akbars at Bradford. But wont be the last. Superb chicken Balti. Generous portions too. Rather small bar though. Highly Recommended.

Review by Anonymous By Request (19th October 2004)

Like many restaurants these days Akbars breaks away from the traditional 'Curry House' and goes for a light, bright and modern feel. In my opinion it is the best Indian in town, where the Balti dishes not only have fantastic flavour but are also good value for money. The large naan breads are to die for, try a garlic & chilli one!

Only moan is a small bar and the only place to smoke!

Review by Anonymous By Request (21st July 2004)

We have visited many times, and have always come away absolutely delighted with the quality of food and service. Midweek 6-7pm is the best time to go as you dont usually have to wait. After that be prepared to wait at the small bar for 15-20 minutes, but it will be worth it. Very good value for money.

Review by Anonymous By Request (29th March 2004)

superior balti style curry house in the city centre. very tasty, very good value

Review by Anonymous By Request (2nd December 2003)

Simply fantastic. I havent eaten better. Can't book tho and I suggest you get there early on a weekend and expect to wait for 20-40 mins for a table as its very popular. But they do have a bar...

Review by Anonymous By Request (13th November 2003)

Hungry and searching for a restaurant, we found Akbars by chance. What a surprise, simply the best restaurant ever!

Review by Anonymous By Request (29th July 2003)

Good food, nice surroundings, excellent atmosphere, reasonable price. All in all an excellent evening which I will recommend to friends.

More about Akbars, Leeds City Centre
Send us your comments about Akbars, Leeds City Centre and get £50 off a case of wine *

*While offer lasts. Terms and conditions apply

We appreciate any and all feedback about our site; praise, ideas, bug reports you name it!