Wheatsheaf Inn, Cleckheaton Reader Reviews

More about Wheatsheaf Inn, Cleckheaton
Send us your comments about Wheatsheaf Inn, Cleckheaton and get £20 off a case of wine *

Wheatsheaf Inn

Pub Food

95 Gomersal Lane, Little Gomersal, Cleckheaton, BD19 4JQ
Call this Venue on 01274 878638 and mention Sugarvine

Review by Sugden (19th November 2012)

Booked a table at lunch time as very busy.
Food very good and staff rushed off their feet .
Ist course good and pudding did NOT arrive the waiter forgot our oder and cancelled and payed and left .
Helpings TOO LARGE and over welmed at the size of servings and possible waste .When could be served more small portions to suit O.A.P s .Good value for money and may call again when passing ..

Review by Popeye 32 (8th August 2012)

Lovely pub with great food! well worth a visit, everyone should try it at least once, you won't be disappointed!

Review by Sistap74 (9th July 2012)

Food amazing, let down slightly by disorganised service, but don't let that put you off. Great value delicious food. Just needs a more organised manager who is a bit less abrupt. our experience has been the same each time we go, and if we go with friends we always warn them about the service highlighting that its worth it for the food!

Review by Beverley (23rd April 2012)

I have now been to the Wheatsheaf many times at lunchtime, but mainly in the evening and can honestly say the menu is wonderful, the specials are a must and we continue to go back with new friends and family to show them this little gem of a find to dine out. The staff are always very friendly and attentive - nothing is too much trouble. The portions are very substantial - in fact I have never tried a dessert due to this fact - although my husband has sampled many - all meet with his high approval. My only negative comment is that it is a victim of its own success and you really must book in order to guarantee you will get a table - so we do that every time and have never been disappointed.

Review by Yammy1 (7th March 2012)

Excellent Food, Good Service. Real Shame they have put a kids menu on as it just encourages folk to visit with screaming kids in tow. Adults mainly like to go out for a "quiet" drink & a nice peaceful meal, not the case here anymore !!! Such a shame, as it is busy enough without needing folk to bring rugrats along too.

Review by Dianne & Paul (9th February 2012)

FOOD - 5 *, STAFF SERVICE - 5*, ATMOSPHERE - 5*, PRICE - WORTH EVERY PENNY!

We have eaten here on more than one occasion and the one word to describe our experience - EXHILARATING!!

The staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you, on their toes all the time and always smiling and show to like their jobs and get on with the punters too. Out of the way a bit and if you don't know where it is, you would find it hard to get there.

YOUR A FOOL IF YOU DON'T GIVE IT A GO. YOU WILL WANT TO GO BACK :D

Review by Mick Wilde (7th February 2012)

Having read the previous reviews we decided to sample the food and hospitality at The Wheatsheaf Inn.
We were definitely not disappointed.
The food and staff were second to none and we would recommend this hostelry as a must visit venue.
Great value, great food and great service.

Review by Brian & Lynsay Ayrshire Scotland (8th October 2011)

One word sums this place up; "wow"
Everything you could want from a pub. We visited during a recent holiday and can't disagree more with the comments of Andrew in Cleck. The atmosphere was pleasant and welcoming and the food was simply fantastic, so much so we ate there both nights of our stay in the area. Really well worth a visit, please don't be put off by its slightly off the beaten track location!

Review by Julie (26th September 2011)

we have been to the wheatsheaf several times and always the food is excellent. The service is good and the waiting times not too long. I would recommend this pub to everybody

Review by Faye (17th September 2011)

I have been to the Wheatsheaf twice now and am booking to go back again in a few weeks.
Amazing food, huge portions and great prices. I have recommended this pub to so many people - definitely a hidden gem.

Review by Kate (14th September 2011)

Coming over to UK end October, and definitely be coming to Wheatsheaf more than once on my visit. Could not miss the chance of eating such fantastic food. It would be worth the trip just to eat there.

Review by Kate Holmes-throup (8th September 2011)

Been four times to Wheatsheaf, every time in a big party and have to say that the food is fantastic and the service matches it. Really good atmosphere, friendly. We asked to speak to the Chef Adam, and he came out and we congratulated him. He was very gracious in his thanks. Well Done All The Team, and it must be a Team, to provide such excellent food and service

Review by Andrew In Cleck (4th July 2011)

I have been to this place a few times myself. The beer is excellent and the front beer garden is superb and dog friendly. Although a lot could be said for the staff. It have a very cliquey atmosphere a kind of "this a local pub for local people" feel about it.

Review by Kirstie And Kevin (30th March 2011)

Having moved to Gomersal 2 years ago, we have already seen a few managers move through the Wheatsheaf. The only thing I can say in the current staff are PHE-NOM-I-NAL. Take the time to find this place, you won't regret it, but book. Actually why am I sharing this info, now we'll never get a table !!
The beer garden is so tranquil on an evening (English weather permitting !!) when all you can hear are the birds.

Review by Everyspoon (5th February 2011)

I have visited the Wheatsheaf several times recently for lunch, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I would not normally take the time to review a restaurant/ pub, due to my own laziness. However, after reading the recent review in the Yorkshire Evening Post I felt compelled to do so. I can only imagine that the reviewer thought they were a Michelin Inspector, although the situation did not sound ideal, it does appear to me that it has been embellished for literary purposes.
The food and service at this establishment have always been second to none and at an extremely reasonable price. All the reviews already placed on this site are testament to this.
Shame on you Yorkshire Evening Post, surely a second visit (if they will have you) is in order to present a more accurate picture.

Review by Yorkshiregooner (19th September 2010)

Excellent Sunday dinner, probably the best Yorkshire puddings i have had. All produce was 1st class, I had ham and my wife had Beef , the childrens meal would have been enough for an adult. Have rebooked to go again. First Class.

Review by Jeanette And Steven Brownlee (16th September 2010)

The Chief (Adam) produces some outstanding meals that are wellworth sampling, the host Sarah provides you with a warm and friendly welcome to the Inn were you will find pleasing decor and a friendly atmosphere. They serve lunchtime and evenings up to 9pm but ring first as it is very popular, and after meals on a Wednesday evening her partner (Damion) provides an entertaining quiz night. Not to be missed

Review by Laura (25th August 2010)

My boyfriend and I went for lunch we hadn't booked thinking it would be quite but when we arrived it was very busy, we were told the wait would be 20 minutes but didn't mind so sat down and had a drink. After getting sat down and ordering we waited about another 20 minutes for our food which was superb, I had sausage, mash n a Yorkshire pudding. I was so pleased with my meal and the Yorkshire pudding was the best I'd tasted in a long time n it was huge. My boyfriend had fish n chips n again that was beautiful, the fish was also very big. The staff we so lovely and smiley even though they were very busy, the surroundings are very tastefully decorated also n there is a lovely beer garden out the back. Overall very pleased with our visit and therefore have booked for 11 of us next week. I would say definitely book to make sure you get a table.

Review by Linda And Keith (3rd August 2010)

I went with my partner, my daughter and her partner for Sunday lunch and we all agreed it was the best food we had eaten for a long time, having tried lots of restaurants. The staff are very pleasant and let you take your time, we will be going back shortly. This is a little gem.

Review by Mrs Sharon Jewitt (20th July 2010)

AT LAST! a good local restaurant.My friend and i visited the venue during the week , the food was so good i booked for the whole family on fathers day ,the staff are wonderful and the food devine.Can't wait to go again!

Review by Kirstie & Kevin (30th June 2010)

We visited the Wheatsheaf on June 29th 2010 and were very pleasantly surprised, we both had the deep fried cheese on mango Puree to start, which was delicious and light, then Kev had the belly pork and I had the Ballotine of chicken stuffed with Boursen. Both were outstanding and a credit to the chef. The waiting staff were attentive but not in your face and all in all a good solid 9/10. Keep it up !!

Review by Luke (4th June 2010)

The Wheatsheaf Inn provided excellent quality food for me and my family, the service was superb and i would recommend it to anyone. It felt like a home away from home!

Review by Susan Grey (4th June 2010)

I recently visited the Wheatsheaf after it being re-opened with my partner and our 2 year old daughter. It was clean and tidy and the service was fantastic, there was a wide variety on the menu, that much so I didn't know what to choose!! It was served and presented well and tasted gorgeous, in fact I would say it was the best Sunday lunch I had ever eaten!

Review by Johnny Boy (1st September 2007)

I went to the Wheatsheaf in March of this year upon learning they had a new chef, we were politely ushered to our table and left to peruse the menu. The pub itself was tidy and had a good feel and character about it. I ordered the chef's special - homemade Steak & Ale pie, delicious, while my partner enjoyed Fillet Steak and all the trimmings. We found our visit enjoyable and will definitely be stopping by again very soon. The great food coupled with a good selection of wines and cask ales make this pub well worth a visit.

More about Wheatsheaf Inn, Cleckheaton
Send us your comments about Wheatsheaf Inn, Cleckheaton and get £20 off a case of wine *

*While offer lasts. Terms and conditions apply

We appreciate any and all feedback about our site; praise, ideas, bug reports you name it!