Marr Lodge, Doncaster Reader Reviews

More about Marr Lodge, Doncaster
Send us your comments about Marr Lodge, Doncaster and get £20 off a case of wine *

Marr Lodge

Pub Food

Barnsley Road, Marr, Doncaster, DN5 7AX
Call this Venue on 01302 390355 and mention Sugarvine

Review by Teresa (8th February 2013)

Staff very nice best carvery I've had.

Review by Elaine (13th January 2013)

Visited Marr Lodge on Sunday for a 70th Birthday lunch 16 adults and 4 children. Had carvery food spot on good choice. Staff friendly and very helpfull.

Review by Tiffany (13th October 2012)

Really friendly service, lovely food - big portions, all home cooked and very fresh (no boil in the bag!). The prices were excellent and my family thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Would go again and again!

Review by Saz (6th August 2012)

visited the marr lodge for the first time on sunday..and have to say the place was very friendly and welcoming. The carvery was spot on and good value for money!!!! would recommend it to anyone...excellent customer service as well!

Review by Josh Heart (5th August 2012)

recently visited The Marr Lodge for a meal with my family. The menu was very well presented and the food was lovely. Just under new management and the new manager made us feel very welcome. Definitely a place i will be visiting again. Thank you for a great experience

Review by Darren (17th June 2012)

I have to say I have visited many carverys all over the country. This has to be the worst yet. Very disappointing. The only saving grace was the meat. That wasn't bad but other than that it was appalling.Roast Potatoes - floppy rubbery not a bit of substance Cabbage - heavily coated in black pepper Peas and Sweetcorn - not to bad but again coated in pepper. But cheapest they could findCarrots - coated in pepper.Mash - smash comes to mind. That or frozen elasticly thick substance Gravy - salty , in fact I was left with a salty taste at the end the end of the partial meal I ate.Broccoli , I didn't get to see any as one of our party had the dregs and they had ran out. But she wasn't impressed either. Yorkshire pudding - often the greatest part of a roast but not in this case, I couldn't even describe it , maybe an edible flannel ? A party of 7 and not one of us cleared our plates.This was a gift for fathers day , If your looking to impress or make a special day, go somewhere else. I am regretful to say these words but it can't go unsaid as I was advised against going but ignored the advice as it was convenient, it's a waste of money time and effort going to marr lodge. One point to make , they did have signs up looking for a new chef. ,maybe that is why.So , the food ... Rubbish Now let's move on to the service.Wasn't rude , but by no means polite, what is the point of asking " was everything ok " yes normally like everyone else I normally say " yes thank you " even if it is slightly off but this time I couldn't , I really needed to let them know how poor it was so I replied ... " pretty disappointing actually" the waitress replies , ok and walks off. Well anyway I won't be going back. !Subnote : the fact it wasn't packed on fathers day says I am not alone.

Review by Mandy (28th November 2010)

Excellent home cooked food in a warm, friendly surrounding. Highly recommended

Review by Jo Cook (24th June 2010)

thanks to the new owner, simon, the pub has become a pleasure to go in. Back to being the friendly, welcoming british pub it once was. Fresh food, cooked to order and a fab sunday carvery

Review by Sureone (23rd February 2008)

Since the new owners( nick&lucy ) have arrived, marr lodge is a pleasure to visit. The food is excellent and all home cooked with a friendly atmosphere and a warm welcome. Its nice to find a pub that is not run by a big company. Don't expect cheap microwaved food at a discounted price because its all fresh and cooked to order. We go at least twice a week and have never been disappointed. (my wife is a stickler for public toilets and there's are the best she has seen)

More about Marr Lodge, Doncaster
Send us your comments about Marr Lodge, Doncaster and get £20 off a case of wine *

*While offer lasts. Terms and conditions apply

We appreciate any and all feedback about our site; praise, ideas, bug reports you name it!