Punjab Sweet House and Chargrill Centre, Bradford Reader Reviews

More about Punjab Sweet House and Chargrill Centre, Bradford
Send us your comments about Punjab Sweet House and Chargrill Centre, Bradford and get £50 off a case of wine *

122-126 Listerhills Road, Bradford, BD7 1LS
Call this Venue on 01274 720 308 and mention Sugarvine

Review by Cliff (30th July 2011)

I went to the Punjab on Thursday 28th July after a night out with a friend. The Massala fish starter was sensational both in terms of quality and the size of the portion, I also had the fish curry as a main with Pilau peas rice, both of which were also excellent. My companion was a vegetarian and I have to be honest, I don't know what he ordered; I do know that he raved about it afterwards. The Punjab looks like an upmarket 'formica' curry house but the quality of food is way beyond that. My favourite Asian restaurants include the Aagrah chain, Akhbars and Mumtaz and I can tell you that the Punjab can hold its own with any of these. The menu may not be as extensive and the decor (while not scruffy) may not be impressive but the food is first class. As a 'sweetener' the famous 'Fighting Cock' real ale pub is a short walk away Why not round off a night of excellent real ale with an excellent curry?

Review by Henry Root (21st February 2010)

Had a brilliant Karahi Ghost there on Friday with two friends, accompanied by the best Perswari Naan I have ever had. Be warned however that this is an Indian for Indians. No alcohol, just regularly filled flip top bottles of cold, crystal clear free water. All for £11 per head including Poppadoms and pickles, starters, main course, rice, nanns and roti. Yum yum!

Review by Mattchef (21st February 2010)

I am a chef in Bradford and have been using the Punjab for over 10 years, on the week I moved house I ate there every night! When I owned a local English restaurant my chefs and I ate there on our split shift break every Saturday. Reliable, always good, sometimes brilliant, the punjab never disappoints. Try the spicy chapple kebabs, the excellent masala fish and superb curries like saag gosht and karahi punjabi chicken as well as authentic specialities such as paya and niharee lamb. But above all eat the breads, hot and fresh from the tandoor.

Review by Issi (26th September 2009)

Iv been going the Punjab for years. Brilliant food, and service, iv eaten at every curry place is Bradford, and this has to be one of the best, my fav is their Mix Grill Sizzler... Very succulent, and spicy...

Review by Idletim (19th September 2009)

Looblylou the dessert you mentioned is called falooda

Review by Eric Sean. (9th April 2009)

really good food, mostly Asian families were in at the time, which is reassuring. i didn't suffer from bad wind the next day which is a sign of a proper curry. The restaurant might not be as fancy as the mumtaz but the food is just as good if not better...just go there and see for yourself.

Review by Chewy (20th March 2009)

very nice food, friendly staff and yummy sweets, very reasonable priced as well. They cater for veggies, (8 types of curries), be aware of curry with karela - it's really bitter, I couldn't finish it.

Review by Merv (5th August 2008)

Discovered this place by accident and so glad I did! Their char grill selection is outstanding and the best lamb chops I have ever tasted. Helpful staff and chilled out atmosphere.

Review by Schoey's Ego (18th February 2007)

This place does some excellent food. There's a decent range of dishes including some real rarities and the grills are always popular with the mainly (but not exclusively) Asian clientele. The chapple kebabs are easily the best starter I've had anywhere. Ever. That said, they're not for the faint hearted as they're crammed with fresh chopped chillis.

Review by Eatoutalot (22nd October 2006)

discovered this place 6 months ago and have been loads of times since - it has taken over from the mumtaz and nawaab for me. absolutely brilliant food - fish masala to die for.

Review by N/a (25th September 2006)

I went to eat and i got a good service from the supervisor Amjid he was very good. i will be coming back to eat and i thank Amjid no one can beat Amjid

Review by Looby Loo (7th August 2006)

Have just had second visit to the Punjab and found it just as good as the first time - ok there are no table cloths but the food is fantastic. Had a wonderful desert consisting of spaghetti, ice cream, ice cubes, yogurt, small black beans and strawberry sauce - if anyone knows the name of it i would love to know.

Review by Anonymous By Request (10th May 2004)

been here twice recently. if you want a fancy interior, a million different dishes to choose from (but they are all realy variations of the same thing) lots of poppadums and little boxes with flames inside them for the curries to sit on top, then don't go to this place. however if you want a vey good authentic curry served the way it should with good bread and a bit of fresh salad then go now!

Review by Anonymous By Request (9th February 2004)

Quite Simply one of the best Curry houses in Bradford - and thats saying something. Please don't let the look of the place from the outside, or it's location put you off. Its an absolute must for any curry lovers. The Kahari Chicken and Fish masala are excellent and great value for money.

More about Punjab Sweet House and Chargrill Centre, Bradford
Send us your comments about Punjab Sweet House and Chargrill Centre, Bradford and get £50 off a case of wine *

*While offer lasts. Terms and conditions apply

We appreciate any and all feedback about our site; praise, ideas, bug reports you name it!