Smiths Restaurant, Eccles Reader Reviews

More about Smiths Restaurant, Eccles
Send us your comments about Smiths Restaurant, Eccles and get £20 off a case of wine *

1-3 Church Road, Eccles, M30 0DL
Call this Venue on 0161 788 7343 and mention Sugarvine

Review by Gill (20th April 2014)

Been to Smiths a number of times and enjoyed. Last night I ordered the lamb hotpot but I can say it lacked the lamb and wasn't anything special. Staff didn't respond to the comments when told about it. Very disappointed in them. Don't order the 24hr slow cooked lamb hotpot. Have something else instead.

Review by Margaret (21st July 2011)

I visited Smiths again with a friend yesterday evening. As always, the food was excellent and the service a perfect blend of friendly and professional. Try the frittata on the starter menu - it's to die for! Perfect! And the new haloumi cheese starter is an unusual but piquant combination. We will be visiting again and again.

Review by Mr No Nonsense (22nd February 2010)

What can i say, the food and service are second to none!
Yes there is an overrated place trying out the 'lets be posh in Eccles' look but for atmosphere and great, down to earth no nonsense food. Smiths is the place to be.
Been there 3 times now and i'm welcomed like an old friend!!

Review by Leanne (15th February 2010)

absolutely amazing, will definitely eat there again.. Went valentines day and it was all priced reasonably.. Fantastic x

Review by Bernie (24th November 2009)

I Have been going to Smiths for about 10 years and would like to praise them for their consistency of excellent food and service. I have taken friends and family for special occasions and everyone comments on having such a good time- with the food, service and atmosphere.
I heartily recommend Smiths and will be going back very soon.

Review by Pádraig (3rd December 2007)

The staff are excellent here and very aware of the needs of and accommodating for people with allergies. Also very patient with demanding people like ourselves.

Topped off with excellent food, it's an ideal restaurant.

Review by Himnher (28th October 2007)

Have been to smiths lots of times over the last few years. They seem to be one of very few places that improve with time. The staff are excellent and the quality of the menus available are second to none. Whether its the Tuesday jazz night, an early tea or a night out with friends there is no place better place to fill you up and leave you looking forward to your next visit

Review by Little Mo (2nd August 2007)

This has to be the best restaurant in the area. It never fails to delight and I have been dining there for the past 10 years. The quality of food and service never wavers, no matter how busy they are (and that tends to be most evenings).

Review by Ali002 (3rd May 2007)

Brill Brill Brill - what a find. We were told to go by a couple we got chatting to at a comedy club, a bit random but if it crops up in conversation with strangers you think it must be good, and we weren't disappointed. Staff are fab.

Review by Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (23rd November 2006)

I ate at smiths a while ago and loved it the service was brilliant and the food was excellent. Anybody thinking of going should go.

Review by Chrissamsdad (30th July 2006)

It's so great having restaurant within walking distance, so we both can drink while we're eating.

And it's not just because of this that it's worth recommending - really really great food, very British cuisine - If they have anything with black pudding on the menu - order it, you won't be disappointed. Excellent wine menus with a good range available by the glass. Their puddings are some of the best I've tasted (and I do like my pudding). If I have any criticisms it's that the menu is constantly changing, which is usually a good thing, but my favourite starter and liquid centre chocolate pudding both disappeared, but I've had something equally good in both instances. Also, it's not a place to go if you really hate Jazz, and I really really do hate it. It's not just Tuesday's when it's Jazz night, they do tend to play it constantly the rest of the time. For all I can tell, it might as well be the same 'tune' on endless loop. Enough ranting - despite this, and if you knew me, you'd realise how big a concession this is to me - I still go regularly and have a great time.

The fixed price menus are always good value and especially the early doors offer. The kids menus are varied and a good price at around £4 including drink and ice-cream AND an activity pack (Should be compulsory in restaurants). Finally, it's completely non-smoking!

Review by Tixyix (17th May 2006)

Been to Smith's many times.
The food is always excellent, and the choice is extensive.
The staff are always happy to discuss your choices with you, and point you in the right direction.
And if you aren't happy with anything, it is changed without question.
There is live jazz on Tuesday night, which just makes a good night into something really special.
I have recommended this restaurant to several people, and nobody has been disappointed.

Review by Graeme Wright (4th May 2006)

This was our third visit - early Sunday evening and the place was nicely busy but not hectic so the service was first class. The food, however was a tad disappointing with a somewhat waxy textured black pudding and risotto cake for starters and a smallish fillet of sea bass for mains. Previous visits have impressed with quality, quantity and ambience so hopefully not every day is like Sunday!

Review by Jenny (1st May 2006)

Third visit to Smiths and excellent food and service again. Fixed menu is excellent value with great choice - not something you see on fixed menus. Highly recommend.

Review by Mike (27th March 2006)

Fantastic restaurant. Only our 2nd visit, but will go back many times again in the future. Great food, and attention to detail is stunning. serving staff are very good, and nothing is too much trouble. Well worth a visit.

Review by Anonymous (17th May 2005)

Here is a light that will never go out..... Brilliant restaurant. Great food, great atmosphere, fantastic wines and bottled Timothy Taylor's Landlord. What more can I say? Except that it's jazz night on Tuesday and the waitresses (and waiters) are all fab.

Review by Anonymous By Request (12th February 2005)

I think smiths is one of the best restaurants we have ever been to! It has great food and don't forget the wine!! It also has lively atmosphere and the service is outstanding!

Review by Anonymous By Request (26th January 2005)

I took my father to this restaurant when he was recovering from an operation. The staff could not have been more accommodating an excellent range of specials and the staff took time to recommend some superb dishes. Ambience is great not to busy etc. Wonderful wine selection a must for all great food lovers!!!!

Review by Anonymous By Request (24th October 2004)

This must be one of the best restaurants in the whole North West. Dave, Justin and Elaine create such a wonderful atmosphere and their staff are relaxed but very efficient. This puts the diner at ease. Try to visit on Tuesday nights if you like Jazz as they have live music from Jeremy Sasson and others. Dave's wine list is very well thought out and the specials board changes from week to week. I have been going since it opened and have always had good food and wine.

Try the Eccles cake and custard if you have a sweet tooth, Always a favourite.

Review by Anonymous By Request (15th June 2004)

Judging by how busy the place was early on a Tuesday evening, it must be something special! Very good value considering the high standard of cooking and service. Portion sizes are hefty as well, so don't order sides dishes unless feeling very greedy. Reccommended to me by a friend, and fussy me is inclined to agree it's a bit of a gem!!

Review by Anonymous By Request (2nd March 2004)

Excellent food, well cooked, well presented and great variety. A regular venue.

Review by Anonymous By Request (28th October 2003)

I go to Smiths over and over again. The informal atmosphere and friendly staff are only surpassed by the excellent quality of food and drink. The quality of a 'top' Manchester restaurant at a price affordable to just about anyone. Brilliant!

Review by Anonymous By Request (24th September 2003)

I adore this restaurant! the staff are fantastic, the atmosphere is always enjoyble,jusyt like the whole night. It's a must for anybody who wants to enjoy a sociable night out, with amazing food and wine, and such incredible service. Go and see for yourself!

Review by Anonymous By Request (17th February 2003)

A hiden Gem!!!
Friendly and well informed staff helped me choose a fab meal that was gluten free. They take pride in the fact their food is home cooked so that they know exactly what it contains.

Great choice too for every taste.

Try thier infamous fish soup.

If you live in the area you have to go.

Review by Anonymous By Request (14th June 2002)

Can there be a better restaurant anywhere in Manchester? With fixed price menu's (£12.95 for 3 fantastic courses) and a well chosen wine list, the food is excellent and unbelievable value for money.
The atmosphere is very relaxed, with casually dressed staff making for a lively eating environment. One of the best nights out in West Manchester, definitely worth taking the tram to Eccles for. Warning, this place is busy every night, so make sure you book early!

More about Smiths Restaurant, Eccles
Send us your comments about Smiths Restaurant, Eccles and get £20 off a case of wine *

*While offer lasts. Terms and conditions apply

We appreciate any and all feedback about our site; praise, ideas, bug reports you name it!