Azzuri, Newcastle City Centre Reader Reviews

More about Azzuri, Newcastle City Centre
Send us your comments about Azzuri, Newcastle City Centre and get £20 off a case of wine *

Azzuri

Italian

Forster Street, Newcastle City Centre, NE1 2NH
Call this Venue on 0191 222 1110 and mention Sugarvine

Review by Stewii (29th January 2011)

So i visited Azzuri last night with my girl friends. I just had to let everyone know how much of a great experience we had. We started of with a bottle of Prosecco, We received a beautiful cocktail glass on ice, When visiting Azzuri i just never know what to get. So after much deciding i chose the ...King Prawans with a Foccacia ooooooh!!!! what can i say it was tastey,,, very tastey. And for main course Steak with a great bottle of Red to accompany. It went down a treat!! After super service, Not to much and not to little, We all decided on a breif settle stomach time. And later deciding we must have a little selection of the home made dessert and LEMONCELLO ice cream.. And od course A small glass of chilled lemoncello to accompany. I would recommend it to anyone Oh and to finish a little shot of coffee oh and to finish after that a little cocktail. All i can say is a well rounded experience, will be coming back, cant wait to see what i get the next time..Thanks Azzuri Great chefs, great staff, great food , great night !!!

Review by I Love Food (1st June 2010)

What can i say i LOVE IT !!! the staff are great and chefs make such goooood food i want one in my kitchen at home.
I have the Gamberoni Aglio i can taste while writing this, and a mig mix salad, oh and dont forget the Margarita extra limey, Perfect night. !!
Thank you Azzuri

Review by Anna (27th July 2009)

9 of us went to Azzuri on Friday to kick start a Hen party and it was fabulous. We were staying at the the Travel Lodge which is directly above the restaurant so for a group of girls who didn't know Newcastle at all, it was really convenient.
We sat in the bar area for a short while whilst ordering, then moved the through to the restaurant area for dinner. The waiting time was minimal, but if it had have been busier, the bar was so lovely and the bar maid so friendly that it would have been a great place to wait. The food was fantastic! We ordered a number of different dishes within the group, and everyone agreed that it was amazing. The portions were huge and the staff were brilliant - really attentive and fun.
A starter, main course and a few drinks each worked out at roughly £25 each. It was a great way to start the Hen weekend and I'd definitely go back if ever I were in Newcastle again.

Thank you very much to all the staff at Azzuri

Love
The Hens from Wallasey

Review by Vicky (18th December 2008)

Me and my partner went shopping in Newcastle on the 10th Dec 08 and were staying in the Travelodge.
Azzuri restaurant is situated under the hotel, we noticed it in the day time and thought it looked nice, so went in for a drink and to browse the menu. The waitress did have difficulty understanding English, but was pleasant and helpful.
We decided to eat at the restaurant as we were impressed by the standard during our afternoon visit.
I can honestly say that this was the nicest restaurant i've ever dined in! The staff were great, you can see into the kitchen where the food is being prepared and the food was absolutely amazing.
The cocktails are also work a try, a great selection and very nice indeed. And to top it off, the restaurant was beautifully decorated with christmas lights etc - it looked lovely.
we will definitely be returning to this restaurant, even though we do live 3 hours away - Azzuri alone is worth the drive!

Review by Salient43 (7th December 2008)

I recently took my mother to Azzuri for her birthday. I had eaten there twice previously and the food was great. When waiting for our meal we ordered drinks. I remember the girl who took our drinks order last time. She struggles with her English it took four attempts for her to understand two and half pints of larger.

The starters where great big portions I had mussel and the rest of my company had busheta . For mains my mother had the monkfish, bbq seafood platters which were really good. The restaurant was quite busy you could see that the staff were rushed. But my mother potatoes came out cold and we asked if they could be heated up. They never did it by the time we finished our meal. As it was her birthday I ordered a bottle of Don Perignon Champagne (£120) which was to come with some strawberries. The strawberries didn't come. For dessert we had teramasoo which was lovely. Told the waiter about the strawberries and potatoes and he said the dessert would be free. We had to go get the bill as I asked for it a couple of times but the staff were rushed off their feet. I noticed that they did not charge for the desserts but had added and extra £10 to the cost the wine £130. Cant help but think that would have been the cost for the two desserts. I got it removed from the bill.

In all the food is lovely there. I think management could do with a few more staff. I would recommend going id week when its quieter and remember to check your bill ;o)


Review by Lord Lucan (31st October 2008)

Recently visited Newcastle for the first time and booked a table thro' Sugarvine. com. So glad we did, what a treat. Just across from our hotel (Malmasion) and so stylish. Booking had been taken correctly some weeks ago, drinks while choosing the meal.
My starters (a cold meat selection) was HUGE ! certainly enough for two with the freshest mozzerella I've had this year. Great selection for the main meals but my wife certainly had the best. Her Monkfish in Parma ham was exquisite. Food hot and served fairly quickly given it was fully booked on a Saturday night.
My steak was cooked as requested but quality of the meat was average.
Had filled up on meat so no room for sweet but the coffee, the best! I'm a real coffee buff and mark very harshly and this was the best coffee I've had outside of Europe. All in all well worth the visit and would go again.

Review by C&a (17th July 2008)

My husband and I visited Azzuri recently on the recommendations of my sister and her partner.
We thought the restaurant was stunning, in particular the lovely waiting area where we enjoyed a pre-dinner drink whilst looking at the menu.
Choosing what to order was a difficult task, as there were many appealing dishes on the menu. Eventually, we decided on the fabulous antipasto Italiana starter to share, followed by a rare sirloin steak with wild mushrooms for hubby and perfectly cooked fillets of Sea bass with butter and herb crust for me.
The portion sizes were generous - leaving only enough room for a couple of liqueur coffees to finish (although on seeing the desserts on a neighbouring table I wished we'd ordered one to share!)
The service was excellent - we didn't feel rushed at all, despite it being a very busy Friday night.
We had a great evening and hope to return soon - would recommend a visit!

Review by Frankenfurter (22nd May 2008)

Had a great time at Azzuri, there was a little wait but we were out for the night so it became part of the evening. Lovely reception area not rushed into choosing our meals, drinks were carried to our table when the meal was ready. Starter was generous (approx. £5) could have shared. The main courses range from fish, meat, pasta, pizza, and vegetarian, around £13. The wine is really good big choice with house wine tasting wonderful. Would have like bread and olives to arrive when sat at table or had an appetizer with the drinks in reception. forced ourselves to have pudding, apparently they make their own Tiramisu. Coffee well presented. Went back to the reception for drinks. Will go again

Review by Eriniall (8th October 2007)

A rare night out without the kids saw us visit Azzuri for the first time. Whist the food was excellent and the price extremely reasonable it has to be said that the delays encountered were very unfortunate. Our table was booked for 9.30pm. We eventually got to our table by 10.15pm and our starter arrived at 10.40! the delays continued despite all of the best efforts from the 'run off their feet' staff. I don't know if there was a problem in terms of the kitchen staff or that Azzuri is just a tad too large, maybe this was just a one off, who knows? still the food was good and the staff tried manfully to make up for any delay and apologised unreservedly on numerous occasions. We'll give the benefit of doubt and will try again on maybe a quieter evening.

Review by Tess (25th April 2007)

Took a friend visiting for the weekend to Azzuri, and overall had a very enjoyable experience. The food was delicious, i had the lasagne and my friend chose the chicken risotto with cream and saffron! The staff were very helpful and the prices were very reasonable. Only downside is the smoking. Azzuri has smoking throughout the restaurant.

Review by Susieb (3rd February 2007)

My husband and sister and law and her husband visited this lovely place at New Years Eve for a 4course meal and entertainment. Without doubt, I would say we had a nice night but. one very big complaint was that our main course of trio of fish was uncooked .We spoke to two waiters and the manageress at the end of the night but nothing was done about it.
Considering we paid?60.00 per head, we may go again.

Review by Tracee (30th January 2007)

We (6 people) visited Azzuri for my 37th birthday. The restaurant is located on a quiet street near Newcastle Quayside right next door to a travel Lodge. The Pitcher and Piano bar is a 3-4 min walk away. Our table was booked for 8.30pm on a Saturday evening. We arrived on time and were quickly taken to a 'waiting' area where we ordered our drinks and looked at the menu (which had a huge choice!) Our order was taken at our 'waiting area' table by a very friendly member of staff. The restaurant was VERY busy and we waited approx 45 mins before we were escorted to our dinner table. Our starters arrived very quickly and the portions were huge - absolutely delish! We were given enough time between courses to chat etc. Our main course arrived and again the portions were very large (I had prawns which were extremely big!) The only let down was my sisters main course meal was incorrect - she had ordered well done steak with no sauce and veg. When she got her meal the steak was rare and there was a sauce on it. We grabbed the attention of one of the very busy staff and he was extremely helpful. The steak was changed for a freshly cooked one (we knew this because my sister had cut a piece from the original one) and we were given extra side dishes (free) as an apology for the mistake! The total cost, per head was approx £25 - this included pre-drinks, a bottle of house red wine, 2 rounds of drinks at our table, two courses for 4 people and 3 courses for 2 people and a 10% tip! All in all it was a very pleasurable experience and I would definitely go back!

Review by Fm (26th November 2006)

We chose Azzuri for dinner when we went out for our anniversary, based upon the recommendations here. We were not disappointed - lovely (if slightly pricey and slow) cocktails to start, swift, attentive service and excellent timing between courses, even though the restaurant was very busy and almost full. The menu had an extensive range, as we are vegetarian it was lovely to have a choice! The food was exquisitely presented, mouthwateringly tasty and served in generous portions. Overall, a very reasonably priced (£50 for two 3 course meals plus cocktails and half bottle of wine), enjoyable meal, the only slight downside was a lack of a homemade selection of desserts. The meal would've been perfectly topped off with a nice creme brulee, however the chocolate ice cream was more than agreeable. We will definitely return and would recommend it to anyone going out for dinner in Newcastle.

Review by Laura (5th October 2006)

Azzuri has to be one of the most stunning places for food within the North East. I have never heard one complaint yet.
Something that always appeals to me is if Italians eat at an Italian restaurant the food has to be cracking.
Azzuri is good for any occasion birthdays, anniversaries, leaving parties etc (i've been to them all!!!)

Review by Mylo (9th May 2006)

Overall, its worth a visit. The foods not very traditional and is akin to all the semi-stylish, wannabe chic and stylish, western Italian restaurants but the surroundings are comfortable and lively and the service is good. Try the desserts as well.

Review by Ms (20th September 2005)

When booking please make sure you tell the customer that the restaurant has a dress code "no trainers or tracksuits" to avoid embarrassment

Review by Sheila (22nd August 2005)

we ate here in May, 2005 would highly recommend trying this restaurant best italian I have had in a long time in newcastle

Review by Anonymous By Request (13th February 2005)

Great atmosphere, attentive (but not pushy) Italian staff. Good food at very reasonable prices. Well worth trying it out.

More about Azzuri, Newcastle City Centre
Send us your comments about Azzuri, Newcastle City Centre and get £20 off a case of wine *

*While offer lasts. Terms and conditions apply

We appreciate any and all feedback about our site; praise, ideas, bug reports you name it!